Apple Pie on New Year’s Day

I love cast iron. For a Christmas gift, my mother-in-law surprised me with a cast iron pie pan. It was pre-seasoned, and I was eager to give it a test drive.

I made a one-crust apple pie with a crumb topping. I use white whole wheat flour for most of my baking, and this was no exception. I also used organic palm shortening in the crust rather than vegetable shortening. These substitutions help me feel like this dessert for my family is a bit more wholesome.

I was nervous that the cast iron would over cook the crust before the pie was done, but it baked up beautifully.

Apple Pie

For supper on New Year’s Day, we had black-eyed peas cooked in homemade chicken broth with kale and other veggies. This was served over brown rice. A lighter meal like that called for a nice piece of pie for dessert.

Leave a Reply

